January 19, 2022

Telegram now has automatic message deletion

By admin

For several years now, Telegram users have been able to delete messages and nod32 key without a trace for all participants in the conversation. Secret chats from 2013 also have a self-destruct timer that prevents you from manually deleting messages.

From today, automatic deletion of messages in Telegram for all participants is available in any chat. In this mode, messages disappear 24 hours or 7 days after being sent.

Automatic deletion will affect only those messages that were sent after the timer was set – the earlier correspondence will remain in the chat history. Unlike secret chats, the countdown will start immediately after the message is sent, and not when the recipient reads it.

How to enable automatic deletion of messages in Telegram
To enable automatic deletion on Android:

Click “Clear history” and select the desired time interval.
On iOS:

Pinch any message;
Click “Select – Delete Chat”;
Next, in the upper left corner of the screen “Configure autodelete”.
When the timer is on, you can see how much time is left before deleting a particular message in the action menu:

In groups and channels, only administrators can enable automatic message deletion.

Earlier, Telegram added the ability to transfer correspondence from other messengers, and voice chats also appeared.